A triump of will over laziness

Discussion in 'Training Psychology' started by Joshua, Dec 21, 2012.

1. Joshua

Joshua Moderator Moderator

Training Log:
    Click Here
    When people take up training they often do it to look better, however IME the biggest reward one reaps from training is not in a change in the shape of one's muscles but in the rewiring of one's mind.

The girl with the lard ass
    When I was an undergrad, there was a very fat girl who I trained. She was so fat, she had trouble walking, and I would often see her waddling across campus before perching herself on chairs to rest. She claimed to want "to loose weight so she could feel good". She didn't know how to lose the weight, but had made little effort to learn, let alone do what was required to make the change she sought. She also would have an endless supply of reasons why she couldn't do things - she didn't want to go to the gym as she felt embarrassed, she couldn't do exercises because they hurt, she couldn't eat vegetables because they made her feel sick, blah blah blah. It was all crap. Her brain had become wired to rationalise away anything that would involve her doing anything, or involving anything that involved making changes to take her out of the hell that she was experiencing.

When we finally managed to infect her with the "barbell bug" the weight came off she felt better and was more confident in her look, but most noticable to me was how she exuded confidence and control with her ability to self determine. to chose what she wanted to do, and who she wanted to be.

Take the easy way...
    We are conditioned constantly throughout our lives by commercial advertising to "make the easy choice", "to just relax", "put your feet up" or all manner of other energy sapping suggestions. One cannot blame companies from attempting to disempower you. Such suggestions are critical in getting you to outsource your tasks to others, even when you are more than capable of doing it yourself.