Hitting The Bag For Beginners

Discussion in 'Training Information' started by Penguin'sreturn, Aug 1, 2020 at 1:51 PM.

1. Penguin'sreturn

Penguin'sreturn Full Member

Alright boys and girls.

Not even titling this 'boxing' for beginners as it's nothing of the sort. The Mrs is coming to the gym with me every Sunday and the gym has a bag room, no sparring allowed just heavy bags, speed bags etc. She used to do martial arts a few years ago but fucked the disks in her back.

Anyhow she just wants to hit the bags at the end of a session to get a bit of fitness back, take some anger out and just purely for fun. I have no boxing background at all so no idea on this hence the question.

Already decided she'll just need standard, all round velcro training gloves. No lace ups, nothing fancy as literally it will just be hits and kicks on a bag. My question is do you reckon she'll need hand wraps? I've read up on it and camps seem totally split, many say no that's for the more advanced and some say yes all the time as it protects the knuckles and impact on wrists. Any input from people who actually know? No guesswork please that's been my job lol.

Again will say this is nothing more than twatting a bag. No aspiring boxing career or anything like that. I would have said no but then I hear the argument wraps will protect her wrists regardless what stage she is at it's made me think twice so any experienced advice? @noel you are/were a fighter aren't you?

2. GhostOf2Can

GhostOf2Can Top Contributor

Penguin'sreturn likes this.
  3. Penguin'sreturn

Top man this is what I thought, I should research less lol heard loads saying no everyone NEEDS wraps to protect wrists. That's literally all she'll be doing is twatting the bag for fun probably imagining its me. Nice one mate

GhostOf2Can likes this.
  4. Afghan

Afghan Top Contributor

I use my bare knuckles cos im well ard la

GhostOf2Can and Penguin'sreturn like this.
  5. Penguin'sreturn