Mixing It Up New Routine Advice?

Discussion in 'Training Information' started by somersetpaul, Oct 5, 2017.

1. somersetpaul

somersetpaul

I am still relatively new to going to the gym, not unfit as also a keen cyclist, but want to tone up a little.

I have been exclusively using the free weights but, as my opportunities to get to the gym are getting less and less with work, I want to build a routine I can also do at home.

I have a flat bench, door pull-up bar, a handful of adjustable dumbbells, plus, homemade TRX suspension trainer and homemade cable pulley.

On the (increasingly) frequent days I cannot get to the gym, how does this routine look? The aim is to mix up the routine to use a combination of the suspension trainer, my own bodyweight, dumbbells and the cable, to try to make it more interesting too..... I wouldn't use ALL of the exercises for a given piece of equipment on the same day, but choose 2 from each of the categories which hopefully compliment each other. Plus, I wouldn't mix TRX plank with bodyweight plank on the same day, so any similar exercises would be split across different weeks.

I hope that all makes sense, let me know what you think. It's a 4 day per week plan:

Day One > Chest & Triceps
    Suspension > Chest Fly > Chest Press > Push Up > Press Fly Combo > Tricep Extension
    Dumbbell > Dumbbell Press (Flat, Incline, or Decline) > Seated Tricep Press > Skullcrusher > Dumbbell Fly (Flat, Reverse)
    Cable > Tricep Extension > Lying Cable Tricep Extension > Reverse Grip Cable Tricep Extension > Seated Low Pulley Overhead Tricep Extension
    Bodyweight > Dips > Push Up (Flat, Incline, Decline, or Wide)
    Day Three > Back & Biceps
    Suspension > Inverted Row > Curl > Delt Fly
    Dumbbell > Reverse Grip Bent Over Row > Curl (Hammer, Zottman, Concentration, or Reverse Grip) > Deadlift
    Cable > Lat Pulldown > Straight Bar Cable Curl > Rope Cable Curl > Reverse Fly > Cable Row > Face Pull
    Bodyweight > Pullups >