Round Back Stiff Leg Dead’s

Discussion in 'Training Information' started by Simon90, Oct 26, 2020.

1. Simon90

Simon90 Full Member

Even with the bar when I get to about mid shin my back starts to round at bottom, how can I fix this? What is it that needs fixing?i only noticed it today I always thought I was keeping an arch/flat back but I’m not

2. RS86

RS86 Top Contributor

Allow your knees to bend a little and make sure you allow hips to travel forward to the bar at lockout but back a little on descent.

This is a good example

Instagram Link

Or alternatively I stop short of the floor sometimes too and keep them under tension

Simon90 and Sjundea like this.
  3. Sjundea

Sjundea Top Contributor

Swede Burns queue of hips to bar.
    Keep that in mind, works for me, and also keeping chest up also works.
    I am no expert mind. But my thoughts when doing any deadlift variati9n:

1. Fix eyes on something slightly above direct eye line.
    2. Push feet through floor.
    3. Chest up.
    4. Hips to bar.

For SLDL you need to break your knees and feel your hams engage.

I only dead 250. There's other you should listen to pulling 300 plus such as @RS86 and @GhostOf2Can

Simon90 and RS86 like this.
  4. Ironman TS

Ironman TS Full Member

I tend to do Romanian Deads rather than SLDL nowadays, keep it a bit lighter and focus on working the hams.

Assuming my lower back isn’t shot to bits (as it was today :thumbdown:) I throw a couple of sets in after Trap Bar Deads.

phani tikkala and Simon90 like this.
  5. Simon90

Simon90 Full Member

Cheers for the link. I do that but it still looks rounded. Even just touching my toes my back is rounded. Poor flexibility/mobility?

RS86 likes this.
  6. Greedy Ben

Greedy Ben Top Contributor

Try sitting your arse back more.
    I was pulling all with my back and @G-G and @GhostOf2Can told me to sit my arse back more and keep my shins more vertical and after some practise it's a much better movement.

Pulling with back