Ostrain Strongman Log

ostrain

Long time member rare poster. I'm doing Bodypower strongman comp inters on May 17th.
I'm pretty new to strongman having done 3 novice comps so far, the first being June last year. I placed second in the last one so time to move up to the inters. My plan is to do 2 inters then move up to opens this year. Time is not on my side, I'll be 43 by the time Bodypower comes along.

Todays training.

deadlift

4 x 4 @ 195kg

1 x 2 @ 215kg

1 x 2 @ 250kg

A few @ 195kg

Done.

This morning

Log

70kg one motion 5 x 1
80kg strict 2 x 1
90kg strict 2 x 1
100kg strict 1 x 1

Bench

100kg 2 x 6
120 1 x ?
140 2 x a few

Light session today, having 2 days off then next week doing one rep max on squat, press and dead.
This will give me an idea of where I'm at. I'll start a modified 5-3-1 the week after.

I got a brilliant gain from that routine, this may sound like im bullshitting but i promise you im not, but my deadlift went from 240kg to 280kg in 6 weeks.

I got a brilliant gain from that routine, this may sound like im bullshitting but i promise you im not, but my deadlift went from 240kg to 280kg in 6 weeks.

Fantastic result. I'll probably stick with it. I think I'm just trying to talk my way out of it because the last set of 8 reps is bloody hard.
I pulled a 280 in December but eased up over Christmas. If I match it next week I'll carry on with the ortmayer.
Did you deload at all?

No didn't deload, just had the week off deadlift, then went back and carried on from where i left off, only thing i did different is instead of doing 8 dead stop reps on last set i made sure i got at least 10 touch and go reps, but didn't bounce them.

Squats

1 x 100
1 x 120
1 x 140
1 x 160
1 x 180
1 x 200
1 x 220

All nice and deep, not great but moving in the right direction.

Plate loaded squat machine, facing forward.

5 sets, don't know weight, loads of plates.

all the best with the BP watched the strongman there the last 2 years but cant make it this year.